Over the last several years I have spent an inordinate amount of time looking for a great resource to track my books. For some time I used Goodreads as a method of tracking my reading, but it could not do much to track all the books in my library. Most recently I have discovered Libib, a web-based library management system that also has an app. Although this system is designed to manage books, movies, video games, and music, I find myself using it primarily for books and secondarily for movies.

The free version of this system can:

  • Catalog up to 100,000 items
  • Cloud sync
  • Mobile app (iOS and Android)
  • Beautiful statistics
  • Connect and share with others
  • Publish a list of your items
  • Create online reviews
  • Import / export your collection
  • Keep detailed notes
  • Tagging, grouping, basic editing

Both the app and the browser provide easy to use, simple system for organizing, rating, and reviewing your books. Although I have not utilized the social aspect of this system, you can share your books and lists of books with friends.

If you are looking for a system to use for your church, or you have a personal library from which people are often borrowing books, perhaps the pro version of the system could be helpful for you:

  • Multi-user management 
  • Lending / Circulation System
  • Unlimited patrons
  • Expanded searching
  • Custom branding for published libraries
  • Multiple published library layout options
  • Searchable published libraries (OPAC)
  • Patron email reminders
  • Patron holds
  • Batch editing
  • Add Books by Library of Congress Number
  • DDC, LCC, LCCN, and OCLC for books
  • Support for custom barcodes
  • Ability to edit everything
  • COMING SOON: Lending via mobile app

Below are a few photos from the app:

Below are a few photos from the browser:


I have found this system to be extremely easy to use and quite helpful. If you are looking for something free (or relatively inexpensive), I highly recommend Libib.

What did you think?